The YMCA provides a state certified Driver’s Education program for those who wish to learn the right way to drive. The YMCA provides state certified Driver’s Education programs which meets all of the instruction requirements for your teen to obtain a Delaware Level
One Learner’s permit. Classes are held at the YMCA and students will meet their “behind-the-wheel“ instructor at the YMCA for individually scheduled driving times. Classes begin monthly for a total of ten classes.
Location: Dover YMCA
September 8-29: M, T, W, 5:00 - 8:00 pm
October 6-27: M, T, W, 5:00 - 8:00 pm
November 3-24: M, T, W, 5:00 - 8:00 pm
December 1-22: M, T, W, 5:00 - 8:00 pm
Ages: 15 years 8 months & up
*If classes have low enrollment, students will be offered the option of enrolling into another class.
Youth who are Home Schooled or attend a religious academy or charter school are eligible for state funding and a reduced class rate.
To register, all participants must bring:
• A parent/guardian (not the student under 18) must bring in birth certification and a school letter proving admission.
• Home, religious or charter school must also bring proof of admission to the school with a letter on school letterhead.
Class space available on a limited basis. Class participants ages 18 & up are required by law to successfully complete both the written and behind the wheel exam at the DMV.
HOME SCHOOL FEE: $55 administration fee
PRE-GRADUATED DRIVER’S LICENSE 
This program is for public school high school students that have successfully completed their classroom portion of Driver’s Education elsewhere. This program will meet the DMV requirement for instructed driving and observiation time needed to complete the State of Delaware Driver’s Education Course and who are under 18 years of age. This process requires students to drive in pairs, which may take some time, so please be patient. Students will meet the instructor at the YMCA. Limited spaces available. To register parent’s please bring:
• A letter stating the student has successfully passed the classroom portion of driver’s ed. on school letterhead and signed by the supervising Driver’s Ed Instructor or the school guidance counselor.
• Copy of child’s birth certificate
BEHIND THE WHEEL INSTRUCTION 
The YMCA provides state certified behind-the-wheel Driver’s Education instruction. Participants ages 16 & 17 must have a valid Delaware driver’s license. Participants ages 18 & up must have either a valid Delaware learner’s permit or driver’s license. Behind the wheel instruction includes 7 behind–the–wheel driving hours with a certified driving instructor in the vehicle. YMCA Vehicles not provided for use during DMV road exam. Original permit required to register.
All driving times are scheduled be date of registration and includes classroom participants. The Dover Y cannot guarantee a particular start date.
Payment arrangements can be set up on an electronic billing only in a case by case situation. This must be set up at the time of registration and must be paid before any certifications are issued.