Child Care

Check out our childcare options including Preschool, Before and After School Care, School is Out care and more!

Learn More

We are Expanding!

Learn more about our expansion project and how you can help make it possible.

Construction Updates

Camp

Traditional and specialty camps at the Y share one thing: they’re about discovery and having the best summer of your life! Click here to learn more about our camps.

Learn More

RENOVATION CELEBRATION CHALLENGE
Stay motivated this summer by taking part in our Renovation Celebration Challenge. Click here for details and to find out how to get started today!


HANBY SUMMER EVENTS
Click here to see what’s happening at our Hanby Outdoor Center.


GRIT Preview
Join us for free GRIT Preview classes June 5-10 (first come first served, come early, limited space).

Monday, June 5 : 11:15-11:45 a.m. and 8-8:30 p.m.

Tuesday, June 6 : 6 -6:30 a.m. and 1:15-11:45 a.m.

Wednesday, June 7 : 10 – 10:30 a.m.

Thursday, June 8 : 11:15-11:45 a.m. and 7 -7:30 p.m.

Friday, June 9: 6-6:30 a.m. and 9:15-9:45 a.m.

Saturday, June 10: 8:15-8:45 a.m.


Camp Carnival
Wednesday, July 12, 6 – 8 p.m.
Join us at the Hanby Outdoor Center for some carnival fun. For a $5 fee for each child gets unlimited participation on all inflatables, games and activities. All proceeds go to our annual campaign to help people in our community who are unable to participate in YMCA programs.

  • Fitness Center: State of the Art Cardio Equipment, Strength Circuit, Free Weights
  • Functional Training Center: Monkey Bars, Plyo Box, Heavy Bag and more
  • Two Indoor pools
  • One outdoor pool at the Hanby Outdoor Center
  • Basketball Gymnasium
  • Men’s and Women’s Locker Rooms
  • Family Locker Room
  • Sauna
  • Over 100 group exercise classes weekly- HIIT, Yoga, Pilates, Barre, Spinning, Zumba, BodyCombat and more
  • Aquatic Group Fitness Classes
  • Small Group Training- TRX, Kettlebell, GRIT
  • Free Fitness Consultations
  • Access to Personal Training
  • Instructional Children’s Classes: Swimming, Dance, Karate and more
  • Youth Sports including Basketball, Soccer, Volleyball and more
  • Preschool Program
  • Before and After School Care
  • Summer Day Camp
  • Free babysitting while You Work Out
  • Youth in Government

Take a Tour

Take a look inside our facilities. Click here!

 

SUMMER HOURS

(June 17th – September 3)

Monday-Friday: 5 a.m. – 10 p.m.
Saturday: 5 a.m. – 6 p.m.
Sunday: 12 p.m. – 6 p.m.

 

FACILITY HOURS

Monday-Friday: 5 a.m. – 10 p.m.
Saturday: 5 a.m. – 8 p.m.
Sunday: 12 p.m. – 8 p.m.

 


HANBY OUTDOOR CENTER POOL

May 30 – June 11
Monday – Friday (weather permitting): 3:30 – 7 p.m.
Saturdays & Sundays: 10 a.m. – 8 p.m.

June 12 – July 31
Monday – Friday (weather permitting): 1:15 – 8 p.m.
Saturdays & Sundays: 10 a.m. – 8 p.m.

August 1 – 27
Monday – Friday: 1:15  – 7 p.m.
Saturdays & Sundays: 10 a.m. – 7 p.m.

August 28 – Sept 3 (weather permitting)
Monday – Friday: 3:30 – 7 p.m.
Saturdays & Sundays: 10 a.m. – 7 p.m.

SPECIAL HOLIDAY HOURS:
Memorial Day (May 29):
 10 a.m.- 8 p.m.
Independence Day (July 4):
 10 a.m. – 8 p.m.
Labor Day (September 4):
 10 a.m. – 7 p.m.

SPECIAL EVENT CLOSINGS
July 12th: Camp Celebration –
 Pool closed to members until 4 p.m.


KIDS ZONE HOURS

(Drop in babysitting service for children ages 6 weeks to 11 years)

Please click here to see a list of hours by date.

Due to renovations, the Kids Zone will be relocated next door to the Brandywine Valley Baptist Church Starting Monday, May 8th.


BIG KIDS ROOM  (Ages 5-11)
Held in the Montchanin Room, children can participate in board games, arts and craft activities and more!

Tuesday & Thursday: 5:30-7 p.m.

*Hours may vary on holidays and between session breaks.


SUMMER YOUTH FITNESS CENTER

(Ages 7 to 13 years)
Summer Youth Fitness Center Hours apply from June 12th – August 27th (with the exception of the Summer Mix up Weeks of July 17th-August 5th).

Monday:
8:45 – 10 a.m. and
4:30 – 6 p.m.

Tuesday:
8:45 – 10 a.m. and
4:30 – 7 p.m.

Wednesday:
4:30 – 6 p.m.

Thursday:
8:45 – 10 a.m. and 4:30 – 7 p.m.

Friday:
8:45 – 10 a.m. and 4:30 -6 p.m.

Saturday: 10 a.m.-1 p.m.

Sunday: 12 – 2p.m.


Family Time in the Youth Fitness Center

Suggested Ages: Children 5 and older with an adult
Families are invited to play together in the Youth Fitness Center. To ensure a fun and safe environment for all, adults must stay with their children and abide by posted Family Time Safety Rules.

Current Family Time Schedule:
Friday: 6:40 – 7:40 p.m.
Sunday: 4 – 5 p.m.

 

Holidays & Important Dates

Tuesday, July 4th (Independence Day): Building CLOSED; Hanby Pool Opens at 10 a.m.

Program Session Dates:

 

SUMMER(11 Weeks):
June 12 – August 27, 2017

Full Member Registration Begins:
Tuesday, May 30

Program Member Registration Begins:
Monday, June 5

Amy Jimison

Special Interest & Dance
(302) 510-1184

ajimison@ymcade.org

Ann Morken

Group Fitness Coordinator
(302) 510-1181

amorken@ymcade.org

Anna Seiffert

Asst. Director of Competitive Aquatics
(302) 478-3106

aseiffert@ymcade.org

Bridget O’Connor

Preschool & Family Director
(302) 478-8591

boconnor@ymcade.org

Colleen Mulligan

Office Manager
(302) 478-8304

cmulligan@ymcade.org

Derek Farrar

Director of Competitive Aquatics
(302) 510-1232

dfarrar@ymcade.org

Dot McFadden

Health & Wellness Director
(302) 510-1175

dmcfadden@ymcade.org

Gary Karp

Youth & Teen Director
(302) 478-8579

gkarp@ymcade.org

Ivy Sheehan

Sr. Child Development & Camp Director
(302) 478-8306

isheehan@ymcade.org

Linda Risk

Vice President of Marketing/ Interim Executive Director, Brandywine
(302) 571-6905

lrisk@ymcade.org

Liz Rothwell

Facilities Director
(302) 510-1188

lrothwell@ymcade.org

Lucinda Kettner

Senior Aquatic Director
(302) 478-2051

lkettner@ymcade.org

Maureen Buzdygon

Personal Training Coordinator
(302) 510-1181

mbuzdygon@ymcade.org

Melina Gillis

Kids Zone Coordinator
(302) 510-1199

agillis@ymcade.org

Mike Coleman

Sports Director
(302) 510-1183

mcoleman@ymcade.org

Mike Jumps

Aquatic Coordinator
(302) 478-7834

mjumps@ymcade.org

Mindy Spor

Membership Office Manager
(302) 478-8305

mspor@ymcade.org

Stefanie Bowden

Senior Activities Coordinator
(302) 478-9622

sbowden@ymcade.org

Terri Borkland

Fitness Center Director
(302) 510-1176

tborkland@ymcade.org

Tina Rydgren

Associate Executive Director
(302) 478-8651

crydgren@ymcade.org

Have Questions?

Contact Us

Our Mission


The YMCA is an association of people of all ages, ethnic groups and religious affiliations that strives to cultivate the human potential, self-esteem, and dignity of all people. Our organization exists to develop and practice the Christian principles of love, caring, inclusiveness, justice and peace…and to enrich the emotional, physical and social life of all individuals, families and our community.